Mathematics Curriculum

  • The mathematics standards prepare Alaska students to be competitive on the national and world stage. These standards are a set of specific, rigorous expectations that build students’ conceptual understanding, mathematical language, and application of processes and procedures coherently from one grade level to the next so all students will be prepared for post-secondary experiences. The focus areas for each grade level and each conceptual category narrative establish a depth of knowledge as opposed to a breadth of knowledge across multiple standards in each grade level or content area. The standards stress both conceptual understanding and procedural skills to ensure students learn and can apply the critical information needed to succeed at each level.

Grade Level Overview

  • Kindergarten - Grade 5

  • Grades 6-8

  • Grades 9-12